Barry Leon



Juge, Tribunal de commerce, Arbitrage, Médiation, Insolvabilité et restructuration, Contentieux des sociétés et actionnaires

Barry Leon est le juge de la Haute Cour (division commerciale) au sein de la Cour suprême des Caraïbes orientales, dans le territoire des îles Vierges. Le tribunal de commerce est situé à Road Town, Tortola, Territoire des Iles Vierges.

Avant d’être nommé à la Cour en mars 2015, le juge Leon était associé et chef du groupe d’arbitrage international chez Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall LLP, une importante société d’arbitrage international établie à Ottawa, au Canada. Jusqu’en 2009, il a été associé de Torys LLP dans le cadre de sa pratique en matière de litige et de règlement des différends à Toronto, au Canada, et pendant de nombreuses années, il a été coordonnateur de la pratique. Il a plus de 30 ans d’expérience en tant qu’avocat, agissant sur de nombreux cas complexes et importants pour une grande variété de clients et impliquant de nombreuses industries, y compris les services financiers, les ressources naturelles, l’énergie, la technologie, la propriété intellectuelle, la fabrication et la construction.

Bien que le juge Leon ait principalement agi à titre de conseil dans des litiges, il a également servi d’arbitre et de médiateur, ce qu’il continue de faire à l’occasion. Il est arbitre commercial et médiateur auprès d’Arbitration Place et ADR Chambers, siège en tant qu’arbitre international auprès de la Chambre de Commerce Internationale (CCI) et d’autres lieux d’arbitrages internationaux. Le juge Leon est membre du Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (FCIArb) et un médiateur certifié de l’International Mediation Institute (IMI).

Le juge Leon a reçu de nombreuses reconnaissances professionnelles dans le domaine de l’arbitrage international et dans d’autres domaines, y compris de la part du Global Arbitration Review’s GAR 100 ; Chambers Global; Le guide Lexpert / American Lawyer’s des 500 meilleurs avocats au Canada; PLC Which Lawyer?; Le Who’s Who international d’arbitrage commercial; Le Best Lawyers in Canada; le répertoire juridique canadien Lexpert ; Le Guide to the World’s Leading Experts in Commercial Arbitration; Le Guide to the Leading US/Canada Cross-Border Litigation Lawyers in Canada; et le Who’s Who Legal – Canada.

 En 2013, il a reçu le prix de l’Institut international de prévention et de règlement des conflits (CPR) pour « contribution exceptionnelle à la diversité des modes alternatifs de résolution des différends ».

Le juge Leon a été membre actif de nombreuses organisations internationales d’arbitrage, occupant des postes de direction, ainsi que dans des groupes de travail et des commissions et organisé des conférences et des événements. Il est le président sortant du Comité d’arbitrage de la Chambre de commerce du Canada, CCI Canada (Comité national canadien de la CCI) et coprésident de l’Advocates’ Society’s Arbitration and Mediation Advocacy Practice Group. Il a régulièrement présidé des conférences et des panels et il a parlé et écrit abondamment sur les sujets d’arbitrage, de litige commercial et de médiation.

Le juge Leon a été admis au Barreau de l’Ontario, au Canada, en 1976. Il est titulaire d’un diplôme en droit de l’Université de Toronto, d’un MBA de l’Ecole de Commerce Richard Ivey à l’Université de Western Ontario et d’un baccalauréat en science politique de l’Université de l’Alberta.

Barry Leon



Judge, Commercial Court, Arbitration, Mediation, Insolvency and Restructuring, Shareholder and Company Disputes

Justice Barry Leon is the High Court Judge (Commercial Division), Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court, in the Territory of the Virgin Islands. The Commercial Court is located in Road Town, Tortola, Territory of the Virgin Islands.

Prior to his appointment to the Court in March 2015, Justice Leon was a Partner and Head of the International Arbitration Group at Perley-Robertson, Hill & McDougall LLP, a leading international arbitration firm based in Ottawa, Canada. Until 2009 he was a Partner with Torys LLP in its Litigation and Dispute Resolution Practice in Toronto, Canada, and for many years served as Coordinator of the Practice. He has more than 30 years of experience as counsel, acting on many complex and significant cases for a wide variety of clients and involving many different industries including financial services, natural resources, energy, technology, intellectual property, manufacturing and construction.

While Justice Leon primarily acted as counsel in disputes, he also served as an arbitrator and mediator, which he continues to do occasionally. He is a commercial arbitrator and mediator with Arbitration Place and ADR Chambers, sits as an international arbitrator on International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)) and other international arbitrations. Justice Leon is a Fellow of The Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (FCIArb) and an International Mediation Institute (IMI) Certified Mediator.

Justice Leon received numerous professional recognitions in international arbitration and other areas including from Global Arbitration Review’s GAR 100; Chambers Global; Lexpert/American Lawyer’s Guide to the Leading 500 Lawyers in Canada; PLC Which Lawyer?; The International Who’s Who of Commercial Arbitration; The Best Lawyers in Canada; Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory; Guide to the World’s Leading Experts in Commercial Arbitration; Guide to the Leading US/Canada Cross-Border Litigation Lawyers in Canada; and Who’s Who Legal – Canada.

In 2013 he received CPR International Institute for Conflict Prevention & Resolution’s “Award for Outstanding Contribution to Diversity in ADR”.

Justice Leon has been an active member of numerous international arbitration organizations, serving in executive positions and on task forces and commissions, and organizing conferences and events. He is immediate past Chair of the Arbitration Committee of the Canadian Chamber of Commerce, ICC Canada (Canadian National Committee of the ICC) and Co-Chair of The Advocates’ Society’s Arbitration and Mediation Advocacy Practice Group. He regularly chaired conferences and panels and speaks and writes extensively on arbitration, commercial litigation and mediation topics.

Justice Leon was admitted to Bar in Ontario, Canada in 1976. He holds a law degree from the University of Toronto, an MBA degree from the Richard Ivey School of Business at The University of Western Ontario, and a BA (Political Science; Economics) from the University of Alberta.